TVSN Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At TVSN
Shop Homewares or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Econo-Heat Gen 3 eHeater Wall Panel Heater

Econo-Heat Gen 3 eHeater Wall Panel Heater

The Econo-Heat eHeater Wall Panel Heater is the energy efficient, effective way to warm your home this Winter. You will be able to save on your heating costs with the Econo-Heat eHeater Wall Panel Heater. This heater can be mounted on your wall to save space in your home and it can also be painted to suit your wall colour. It features innovative convection technology that will ensure fast and effective heat is circulated around the room to keep you and your family cosy and warm. Features include: * Quick and easy to install * Safer for children and pets - The unit can be mounted on the wall to ensure it is kept out of reach of children and pets * 90% of the heat comes from the back of the panel which makes this product economical, safe and efficient * Ultra slim and compact design * Inexpensive to acquire and inexpensive to run * Whole room heater as opposed to freestanding locality heaters * Saves up to 50% of your heating costs (based on manufacturers in house testing) * For mounting the Econo-Heat it is recommend that the heaters are installed 15cm from the floor, and 15cm away from windows or doors. If you have a large skirting board then you need to increase the height by a few centimetres to allow for this. * Efficiently warms a room of approximately 9 square metres * Non flammable and non combustible * No drying of the air * No oxygen burnt up * Contains no harmful chemicals or metals * Can be painted to suit decor with PVA or emulsion type paint (do not use oil based paint) * 400 watt * 1.8 Amps @ 230V, 50Hz * 400 Watt * Maximum surface temperature: Approximately 75 - 90 degrees celsius * Cable length: 1.8m * Dimensions: Approx 60 x 60 x 1cm * Weight: Approx 6kg
Overall rating:
3.679 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(28 reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 28 reviews
5 stars
14
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
6
20 out of 28(71%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Econo-Heat Gen 3 eHeater Wall Panel Heater
Review 1 for Econo-Heat Gen 3 eHeater Wall Panel Heater
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Double Edged Sword

Posted25 October 2015
Customer avatar
from Northam, WA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
License to Shop Status:Platinum for Life
I have purchased and installed three units. The warmth from the units is really lovely, not drying and they just take the chill out of the air to make walking around with lighter clothing in winter good.
However, I have received two power bills and my breath was taken away. The power efficiency is not there as claimed. They are using power similar to having a reverse cycle air conditioning unit on for heating. Unfortunately I saw no savings at all. I think it may be better for me to revert to the recycle airconditioner again.
So please be aware there is good and there is bad with this product.
Postal Code 6401
Yes, I recommend this product.
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Econo-Heat Gen 3 eHeater Wall Panel Heater
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Warm and toasty

Posted23 October 2015
Customer avatar
from East Perth
Age:55-65
Gender:female
License to Shop Status:Silver
I ordered a twin pack and installed one in my bedroom and one in the lounge. My apartment is very small, so between them they heat the entire place. These are more like central heating that I've experienced in the UK and other cold places. They heat up quicker than I expected and effects can be felt within 15-20 minutes.
Running costs were a little cheaper than the gas heater they replaced, but I was running two of them instead of only one gas heater.
Only thing is it would be good with heat adjustment, to be able to run them at a little lower heat once the place was warm.
Postal Code 6004
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Econo-Heat Gen 3 eHeater Wall Panel Heater
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not happy

Posted21 October 2015
Customer avatar
from kilsyth
Age:45-54
Gender:female
License to Shop Status:Silver
I purchased the econo-heat to compliment the gas heater I have using them in the bedrooms. don't get much heat out of them even with doors, windows and heavy curtains shut overnight.
Have just had my 1st electricity bill since installing them and have used twice as much as last year. Of course I cannot return them as this information comes way outside the 30 day money back guarantee.
would not recommend them to anyone cost me lots in power for little to no warmth.
Postal Code 3137
No, I do not recommend this product.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Econo-Heat Gen 3 eHeater Wall Panel Heater
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Recommended

Posted23 September 2015
Customer avatar
from Melbourne
Age:45-54
Gender:female
License to Shop Status:Silver
Installed in two average sized bedrooms. Takes the chill off the rooms in very cold weather. Also helps with damp.
Postal Code 3337
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Econo-Heat Gen 3 eHeater Wall Panel Heater
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I like this product

Posted2 August 2015
Customer avatar
Age:55-65
Gender:female
License to Shop Status:Silver
This heater is meant to be in a nine square metre room, the rooms I have them in are twelve square metres each, we found that it needs to be left on all day-when home- so that the heat builds up over the time. it takes the cold edge off the room and my daughter has it on the wall where she studies all day and is quite happy with it. I have one in my bedroom and turn it on a few hours before going to bed but turn it off in the night because it gets too hot for me. Having heavy lined curtains on the windows helps to keep the heat in, and the door shut of course. I am looking at buying two for a small TV room to ensure the room gets hotter. I do recommend buying them, but do advise having curtains drawn closed in the nigh time to keep the heat in.
We live in cold Tasmania.
Postal Code 7260
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Econo-Heat Gen 3 eHeater Wall Panel Heater
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lovely heat

Posted26 July 2015
Customer avatar
from Melbourne.
Age:35-44
Gender:female
License to Shop Status:Bronze
I bought this to use in the laundry, where my cats sleep.
Its been a bitterly cold winter this year and the cats have loved their warm room. It heats the laundry perfectly but does take a few hours to warm up.
Postal Code 3155
Yes, I recommend this product.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Econo-Heat Gen 3 eHeater Wall Panel Heater
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

NOT HAPPY

Posted18 July 2015
Customer avatar
from WAGGA WAGGA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
License to Shop Status:Platinum
had my heater 2 years but only put it up this winter about one meter from temperature clock leave it on all the time temp only gets to 14C it is now craked not good for Wagga Wagga cold itsonly in a small unit . I would not recommend it
Postal Code 2650
No, I do not recommend this product.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer avatar
JoeyMum
Adelaide, SA
 
Please wait while more information about JoeyMum is loaded.
Additional information about JoeyMum could not be loaded.
Faulty items
Posted 27 August 2015
You should contact the customer service people to discuss your crack problems. Australian consumer law requires that any purchases must serve the purpose for which they were intended (which I'm guessing they aren't doing if they're cracked?). I'm sure they will be happy to help you if the items are genuinely faulty. Good luck.
+2points
2of 2voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
valski
geelong vic
 
Please wait while more information about valski is loaded.
Additional information about valski could not be loaded.
Posted 26 July 2015
I've also had mine a few years was quite happy with the heat but mine also cracked , so now im not sure about buying another.
+2points
2of 2voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (2)
Read comments (2)
Review 8 for Econo-Heat Gen 3 eHeater Wall Panel Heater
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

The features advertised for me are not correct.

Posted8 July 2015
Customer avatar
from Melbourne
Age:55-65
Gender:female
License to Shop Status:Gold
After hearing about this product I bought the Econ Gen 4, when I got it, it was cracked so I sent it back. So I purchased the Econ Gen 3 while I was waiting for the the return to. go through. That arrived and I installed it in my bathroom and unless I received a faulty product it does not make any difference what so ever. I actually then cancelled the Econ Gen 4 that I was waiting on and I am about to send this Econ Gen 3 back for a return just in case it was faulty. On my experience I would not recommend this product.
Postal Code 3011
No, I do not recommend this product.
+11points
12of 13voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Matt
West ryde
 
Please wait while more information about Matt is loaded.
Additional information about Matt could not be loaded.
Doubles the power bill
Posted 2 February 2016
Terrible product. I tested it against my reverse cycle air conditioner.
It uses nearly twice the power when running. Would not recommended. I have two useless units sitting in my garage.
+1point
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 9 for Econo-Heat Gen 3 eHeater Wall Panel Heater
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Gives off plenty of heat!

Posted25 June 2015
Customer avatar
from Queensland
Age:35-44
Gender:female
License to Shop Status:Silver
I have to say I was bit "iffy" about buying after reading the reviews but...ours is great. 1st one was delivered broken...good old Australia Post, rang TVSN spoke to a lovely man, didn't want any photos or proof of damage, or didn't want it sent back, totally took my word for it, replacement arrived about 4 days later. Installed in our nursery and it's great. The heat it gives off really surprised us, heats the entire room without any problems. We live in an area that goes well below zero, so it has been put to the test....and in my opinion passed with flying colours. 5 stars from us!
Postal Code 4341
Yes, I recommend this product.
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
missmoo11
Queensland
 
Please wait while more information about missmoo11 is loaded.
Additional information about missmoo11 could not be loaded.
They Crack but...
Posted 30 September 2015
Since I wrote my review the 1st one we got cracked on the 3rd use, but the company was happy to replace. To date we have had 4 crack over a 5 week period...keep in mind we only used probably once a week, not everynight, a couple cracked on 1st use...but they were all replaced without any drama. The last one I got replaced I have not used as now it is to hot at night....hopefully next winter this one will last the distance:) When I rang up regarding cracking all replacements arrived within 3-4 days.
+1point
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 10 for Econo-Heat Gen 3 eHeater Wall Panel Heater
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Loved it at first but . . .

Posted7 May 2015
Customer avatar
from Riverland South Australia
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
License to Shop Status:Gold
I purchased this heater when they first appeared on TVSN and gave it a glowing recommendation. Three years down the track and just out of warranty, the heater has cracked and now appears to be using as much power as a fan heater. I also purchased the one with the thermostat but did not install it because I was thinking of moving house. Here's hoping that one doesn't crack when I install it in place of the cracked panel.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Econo-Heat Gen 3 eHeater Wall Panel Heater
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Very disappointed in this heater

Posted5 May 2014
Customer avatar
from Stanhope Gardens
Age:55-65
Gender:female
License to Shop Status:Bronze
I bought one for my bedroom, a complete waste of money. You get a little bit of warmth if you stand close to it. As far as heating my room, still cold.
Would not recommend this heater.
Postal Code 2768
No, I do not recommend this product.
+19points
24of 29voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Econo-Heat Gen 3 eHeater Wall Panel Heater
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

It doesn't heat a small bedroom!

Posted25 April 2014
Customer avatar
from adelaide
Age:45-54
Gender:female
License to Shop Status:Platinum
I do not understand the positive reviews because I placed one of these so called "heaters" in a small bedroom and after 6 hours, the only thing that was warm was the actual heater! I gave the 2nd one away!
No, I do not recommend this product.
+21points
24of 27voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Econo-Heat Gen 3 eHeater Wall Panel Heater
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

it does everything they say!

Posted9 October 2013
Customer avatar
from South Melbourne
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
License to Shop Status:Gold
I bought two of these heaters a little over a year ago. Both of them have cracked - one had a vertical crack and the other was horizontal. Don't know why - perhaps a bad batch. anyway the suppliers were true to their word: they replaced both heaters.
The heaters are very efficient - it is a cold house and we had the two in an open area equal to two normal sized rooms. they kept that area warm and the fuel bills were significantly reduced.
I would have rated it higher except for the cracks!
Postal Code 3205
Yes, I recommend this product.
+28points
28of 28voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Econo-Heat Gen 3 eHeater Wall Panel Heater
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Brilliant by design

Posted2 September 2013
Customer avatar
from Dunlop
Age:55-65
Gender:female
License to Shop Status:Gold
I was so pleased with my original purchase of these heater I bought 4 more. Now I have one in each of the beadrooms, one in the main bathroom and 2 in the lounge, Dining room kitchen area. I strongly recommend this product.
Postal Code 2615
Yes, I recommend this product.
+15points
15of 15voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Econo-Heat Gen 3 eHeater Wall Panel Heater
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

just bought two more on sale

Posted21 July 2013
Customer avatar
from perth
Age:45-54
Gender:female
License to Shop Status:Platinum for Life
i think these are perfect so you can heat the parts of the house you want to instead of blasting out the central heating. i can see some people have been disappointed but you really do need to take note of the manufacturers instructions that they work for 10 to 12 square metres. some people interpret this as a 12 metre wall x a 12 metre wall which its not - more like a 3 metre x a 4 metre room, and that is why i think they are disappointed. i have three in my living dining kitchen area and need another one or two because of the high ceilings and because this will meet the manufacturers specifications. i guess its personal taste as to how warm you like a room but i dont want something just taking the edge off the cold. i like being warm in winter. my fifteen year old daughter drilled the holes and installed them so they are very easy to put on. this will work out at around 32 to 40 cents an hour for my main living area. i think you have to keep this in mind when you compare this with other heating systems which may be more powerful and blast out more heat so i would do your sums first if the main reason is the cost of heating. i like the fact they are silent, not some giant ugly appliance on the wall and are safe around children and are attractive to look at.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+23points
23of 23voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Econo-Heat Gen 3 eHeater Wall Panel Heater
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works beautifully

Posted20 July 2013
Customer avatar
from canberra
Age:45-54
Gender:female
License to Shop Status:Platinum for Life
Bought this 4 months ago but have waited til I got my first winter bill (3 mths) before posting the review. I have this in the lounge room in a space about 3 times larger than the recommended effective heating space. We have central gas heating and I have left the gas heater program set the same as last winter for comparison. The econo-heater is set on P1.
Our heating bill shows a saving of about $40 per month. This takes into account the increase in electricity and reduction in gas use. There is a similar saving when looking at winter heating costs over the last two years. Also, this is at a time when both electricity and gas rates have gone up.
Living in Canberra, where the winter temperatures are amongst the colder in Aust, I can say that this has been a very worthwhile purchase from the financial perspective.
The quality of the air is beautiful and with less gas being used, the air is not so dry.
Highly Recommended.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+17points
17of 17voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Econo-Heat Gen 3 eHeater Wall Panel Heater
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Safe, easy,soft heat not drying like other heat forms

Posted15 July 2013
Customer avatar
from st leonards
Age:45-54
Gender:female
License to Shop Status:Gold
Just love this unit...
need another one .,for hall of 3 bdrm house.( to slightly heat bedrooms peripherally ,as I'm .that impressed ,and not overheat )
Nb bought a econtroller( it's more expensive/more technological, cousin.-same look ,idea, but has more control to actual temp levels(importantly the unit wall holes saved me time ,as econtroller fitted same holes)
Post taking it out of lounge,put it in bathroom .Where l turn it on ,by the time you are in shower ,its beautifully toasty.!!( safer too/ less expensive overall to run,)
i too as I've compared the bills .....saved @$ 30-40 per quarter.
In lounge was lovely,but its cousin allows you to set specific temp bit better!& save bit more..
This heater not only heats well ,but can be used anywhere eg if preheated for bathroom( where I moved it)!
Note..Now Had it for couple Years......will be getting another ,, for the hall,to help slightly heats it ,and bedrooms.
Now don't get that wood/gas fire dryed throat,I was getting..
So comparing the two ..the econtroller best for living areas,and found this for smaller rooms ..both are great and definitely worth the jump in deep end to try...
Postal Code 3223
Yes, I recommend this product.
+13points
15of 17voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
happydays
perth
 
Please wait while more information about happydays is loaded.
Additional information about happydays could not be loaded.
i love the soft heat too
Posted 11 August 2013
its really hard to explain what soft heat is that mck65 mentions but it truly is such a soft heat. its not drying or burning but just creates a lovely warmth in your home. i ended up with only three in my open area and technically there should have been four or even five but i am happy with this. i think i get away with this because my house is brick and has very good retention. i wouldnt bother with paying for the more expensive one. i just put a timer on mine and its brilliant. dont have to remember to turn it on or off. it does it all itself. the timer i got from that big hardware store two in a pack for under $10
+4points
4of 4voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 18 for Econo-Heat Gen 3 eHeater Wall Panel Heater
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Disappointed

Posted8 August 2012
Customer avatar
from NSW
Age:55-65
Gender:female
License to Shop Status:Silver
This heater barely heats my lounge room at all, the room is 5 square metres, which is considerably less than the recommended 9 square metres, I'm wondering it is because it is a double brick home?
I did not return it because its quite large & costly to do so, also the mucking around to uninstall it.
I possibly need two or three in the one room. I am now waiting for the power bill before either purchasing again & finding space to put it, or ditching this one altogether.
If you have a double brick home, forget it.
Postal Code 2145
No, I do not recommend this product.
+8points
17of 26voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
happydays
perth
 
Please wait while more information about happydays is loaded.
Additional information about happydays could not be loaded.
you miscalculated your squarage
Posted 26 June 2013
hi jojo
i think what you mean is your lounge is around 5 metres x 5 metres because a 5 square metre room would be around the size of a bathroom. 9 square metres which is the heating measurement means a room roughly 3 metres x 3 metres or some variation of this. so it would seem your room is actually 25 square metres which would be a normal lounge size. you would need approximately three of the heaters to warm it properly. i have just bought three to warm my kitchen dining and family room area
+11points
13of 15voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 19 for Econo-Heat Gen 3 eHeater Wall Panel Heater
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect room heater

Posted6 July 2012
Customer avatar
from Sydney
Age:45-54
Gender:female
License to Shop Status:Bronze
I love the wall heater in my bedroom its perfect ! takes the chill out of room.
Postal Code 2044
Yes, I recommend this product.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Suea
Stanhope Gardens
 
Please wait while more information about Suea is loaded.
Additional information about Suea could not be loaded.
Very disappointed in this heater
Posted 5 May 2014
I purchased one of these for my bedroom and I found the only thing in the room was the actual heater, as far as heating the room it didn't do a thing. Had to stand close to it.
Would not recommend this heater
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 20 for Econo-Heat Gen 3 eHeater Wall Panel Heater
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Ok for small rooms in cool climates.

Posted31 May 2012
Customer avatar
from Canberra
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
License to Shop Status:Gold
This does not heat 9m square on a cold day in Canberra, more like 5m sq. It takes about 2-3 hours to warm up. I have purchased an extra one for a larger room but it does not heat it above about 16 deg. Think twice about this one.
Postal Code 2903
No, I do not recommend this product.
+13points
16of 19voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>